Text Resizing



Students standing
Fishers HS National Merit Students Recognized

October 09, 2019

Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 15,000 semifinalists across the nation. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring. 
Steps in the 2020 Competition
Over 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of the U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.
The Semifinalists students recognized from Fishers High School are:
  • Aaron Frollo
  • Melanie Hamon
  • Paige Kertes
  • Benjamin Kipp
  • Zachary Lagpacan
  • Rachel Lee
  • Sofia Martin
  • Taha Mujahid
  • Addison Shorter
  • John Yun
These semifinalists will continue on to the next phase of the process by submitting a detailed scholarship application in which they provide information about the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment and honors and awards received. A Semifinalist must have an outstanding academic record throughout high school, be endorsed and recommended by a high school official, write an essay, and earn SAT or ACT scores that confirm the student’s earlier performance on the qualifying test.  
Semifinalists will be notified in February if they have made it to the Finalist level.  Then winners will be  announced in the spring of 2020.
Commended Students
In addition, about 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation were also recognized for their exceptional academic promise.  Although they will not continue in the 2020 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2020 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.
The Commended students recognized from Fishers High School are:
  • Michael Ayres
  • Samuel Barrett
  • Jackson Bell
  • Emily Brewer
  • Jonah Chapple
  • Hannah Cooper
  • Wamda Garo
  • Alexandria Gentry
  • Joseph Heemstra
  • Mizuha Kobayashi
  • Dylan Manning
  • Mustafaa Munir
  • Kathryn Myers
  • Murad Nazzal
  • Brooke Reid
  • Elena Six
  • Collin Tully
  • Clayton Walker
  • Corinne Yorkman
National Hispanic Scholar
In addition, Sofia Martin was also recognized as the National Hispanic Scholar for Fishers High School.
[CMSAbstractTransformation.DataBind]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

Hamilton Southeastern Schools

  • Central Office
  • 13485 Cumberland Road, Fishers, IN 46038
  • Office Hours: M - F 7:30am - 4:30pm 
  • (317) 594-4100  (800) 905-6665

  • HSE Schools wants to hear from you! To send a general inquiry to the Hamilton Southeastern administration office, click here. 

Our Mission

Hamilton Southeastern Schools, as a forward-thinking school district, provides educational opportunities to ensure the success of each and every student, to become a responsible citizen and to positively influence an ever-changing world community.