Text Resizing

MCKINNEY-VENTO INFORMATION

McKinney-Vento District Plan 2018-2019​

Students who are in temporary, inadequate and homeless living situations have the following rights in Hamilton Southeastern Schools:

  •  Immediate enrollment in the school they last attended or the school which is identified as the home school based on where they are currently staying even if they do not have all of the documents normally required at the time of enrollment;
  • Access to free meals and textbooks, Title I and other educational programs, and other comparable services including transportation;
  • Attendance in the same classes and activities that students in other living situations also participate in without fear of being separated or treated differently due to their housing situations.

Read more on HSE's District Plan for 2018-2019
 

McKinney-Vento Act Residency & Educational Rights Information

(Questionnaire must be completed for each student)

In Indiana over 29,000 children experience homelessness each year. The McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act was created with the goal of ensuring the enrollment, attendance, and success of homeless children and youth inschool. The McKinney-Vento Act provides certain rights for homeless students. This includes waiving certain requirements such as proof of residency when students are enrolling and allowing eligibility for certain services, such as free textbooks.

Complete the residency form here 

Complaint Procedures

*Pursuant to programs administered under the McKinney-Vento Education for Homeless Children and Youth Act

This document addresses the requirements of 42 USC § 11432 for resolving complaints applicable to comparable educational services as covered by McKinney-Vento. A complaint may be submitted by any individual or organization, in-state or out-of-state, and is defined as a written, signed allegation that a federal or state law, rule, or regulation has been violated by a local school corporation or the Indiana Department of Education (IDOE). A complaint must include a statement that a school corporation or the IDOE has violated a statute, rule, or regulation applicable to a covered educational service and the facts on which the statement is based. The complaint must allege a violation that occurred not more than one (1) year prior to the date that the complaint is received, unless a longer period is reasonable because the violation is considered systemic or ongoing.

For more information read the full document here

Dispute Resolution Procedure

Pursuant to programs administered under the McKinney-Vento Education for Homeless Children and Youth Act This document addresses the requirements of 42 USC § 11432 (See section 722(g) (1)(C)) for resolving disputes applicable to enrollment or school placement for homeless children as covered by McKinney-Vento.

Dispute Resolution Procedure Information

Contact Liaisons By Building 2018-2019

HSE SCHOOLS MCKINNEY-VENTO LIAISONS (7/18/18)
 
Brooks School Elementary
Andrea Thorne
Email: athorne@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4250 Office
 
Central Administration
Gary Zgunda
Email: gzgunda@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4100 Office
 
Cumberland Road Elementary
Melissa Riethman
Email: mriethman@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4170 Office
 
Durbin Elementary
Bonnie Barriento
Email: bbarriento@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4840 Office
 
Fall Creek Elementary
Marna Meyer
Email: mmeyer@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4180 Office
 
Fall Creek Intermediate
Julie Green
Email: jgreen@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4220 Office
 
Fall Creek Junior High
Bridget Ryan
Email: bryan@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4390 Office
 
Fishers Elementary
Kirsten Offenbacher
Email: koffenbacher@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4160 Office
 
Fishers High School
Kristy Busack
Email: kbusack@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4293 Office
 
Fishers Junior High
Allen Myers
Email: amyers@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4150 Office
 
Geist Elementary
Lisa Piatek Keller
Email: lkeller@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4260 Office
 
HSE Fishers Academy
Mandy Scott
Email: ascott@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4300 Office
 
Harrison Parkway Elementary
Nancy Logue
Email: nlogue@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4210 Office
 
Hoosier Road Elementary
Kate Young
Email: koyoung@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4240 Office
 
HSE High School
Kyle Poyer
Email: kpoyer@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4193 Office
 
HSE Intermediate / Junior High
Cheri Mahoney
Email: cmahoney@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4120 Office
Lantern Road Elementary
Ellyn Stein
Email: estein@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4140 Office
 
New Britton Elementary
Sherri Leiner
Email: sleiner@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4130 Office
 
Riverside Intermediate School
Jennifer Smith
Email: jensmith@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4320 Office
 
Riverside Junior High School
Angela Mott
Email: amott@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4280 Office
 
Sand Creek Elementary
Jennifer Jacks
Email: jjacks@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4270 Office
 
Sand Creek Intermediate
Cheryl Long
Email: clong@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 915-4230 Office
 
Thorpe Creek Elementary
Jackie Fiesbeck
Email: jfiesbeck@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4310 Office
 
Transportation-HSE Schools
Bill Morris
Email: wmorris@hse.k12.in.us
(317) 594-4310 Office

Hamilton Southeastern Schools

  • Central Office
  • 13485 Cumberland Road, Fishers, IN 46038
  • Office Hours: M - F 7:30am - 4:30pm 
  • (317) 594-4100  (800) 905-6665
  • Email General Inquiries

Our Mission

Hamilton Southeastern Schools, as a forward-thinking school district, provides educational opportunities to ensure the success of each and every student, to become a responsible citizen and to positively influence an ever-changing world community.